Logo of sponsors
MT Thermometer:
Magnetic Fields or Turbulence:
Which is the critical factor for the formation of stars and planetary disks?
February 6(Tue)-9(Fri), 2018
National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan


open the poster

Whether magnetic fields or turbulence play a critical role in the star formation processes has been one of the most important unresolved questions in star formation. Classical low mass star formation theory claims that ambipolar diffusion is essential to remove magnetic flux for gravitational collapse; however, many MHD simulations shows that molecular clouds can fragment and form stars under the influence of turbulence without much assistance from the magnetic fields. Since ALMA has started to offer us unprecedented sensitive polarization measurements, we may finally have data good enough to answer this question. On the other hand, more and more dust polarization observations at disk scales reveal that scattering cannot be ignored which would challenge the reliability of the magnetic field measurement but also could provide critical information on dust growths for the formation of planetesimals.

We hope that this conference offers an opportunity to facilitate the discussions on all aspects of star and planetary disk formation, such as

  1. Magnetic field and turbulence measurements
  2. Molecular cloud structure and dynamics
  3. Formation of protoplanetary disks
  4. Chemical contents of molecular cores and disks
  5. Star formation efficiency

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Science Organizing Committee

  • Crystal Brogan (NRAO/ALMA)
  • Josep Miquel Girart (CSIE-IEEC)
  • Patrick Koch (ASIAA/EASAC)
  • Shih-Ping Lai (NTHU/ANASAC, co-chair)
  • Zhi-Yun Li (Virginia)
  • Leslie Looney (UIUC, co-chair)
  • Giles Novak (Northwestern/ANASAC)
  • Ramprasad Rao (ASIAA)
  • Ya-Wen Tang (ASIAA)
  • Qizhou Zhang (CfA)

Local Organizing Committee

  • Eswaraiah Chakali (NTHU)
  • Cindy Chiu (ASIAA)
  • Hao-Yuan Duan (NTHU)
  • Tien-Hao Hsieh (ASIAA)
  • Phoebe Kao (NTHU)
  • Shih-Ping Lai (NTHU, chair)
  • Sheng-Jun Lin (NTHU)
  • Katherine Pattle (NTHU)
  • Anthony Remijan (NRAO)
  • Katelyn Sevin (NRAO)
  • Yu-Nung Su (ASIAA)


Email: mtsf2018   _replace_to_@_   asiaa.sinica.edu.tw

ASIAA will not contact participants for credit card information. Privacy and Security Policy