Visit ASIAA Homepage Deadline: June 15, 2018
TIARA Summer School on Origins of the Solar System
July 16-20, 2018
Taipei, Taiwan



This summer school is projected to be the first of joint activities between ASIAA and the Center of Star and Planet Formation and the Niels Bohr International Academy at the University of Copenhagen, based on the mutual interests of members of their respective institutions in Cosmochemistry, Theoretical Astrophysics and Star and Planet Formation. The theme on Origins of the Solar System is one that closely covers the broad interests and expertise present in both local institutions and forms the foundation of exchanges and efforts of collaborations and cooperations. The planned topics in this first summer school spread from nucleosynthesis, the influence of the interstellar medium, the formation and evolution of protoplanetary systems, and the planetary materials that contribute to the making of planets. The objectives are to bring researchers and students alike worldwide to participate in the exciting journey through the exploration of multidisciplinary studies.

The lectures are designed for graduate students in Physics, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Geophysics and Chemistry; but participants at all levels are welcomed to attend. Registration is required for all participants. The school is limited to a total of roughly 60 people. For Masters and PhD students, an email confirming their research status provided by an academic or research advisor is also mandatory. A limited number of merit-based lodging support may be available for Masters and PhD students from outside of Taipei.

Deadline for Registration: June 15, 2018
Deadline for applying for lodging support: May 31, 2018
Deadline for participants holding PRC passports: April 30, 2018

Invited Lecturers

  • Pablo Benitez-Llambay (UCPH)
  • Martin Bizzarro (UCPH)
  • Matthieu Gounelle (Natural History Museum Paris)
  • Oliver Gressel (UCPH)
  • Pingao Gu (ASIAA)
  • Troels Haugbølle (UCPH)
  • Lars E. Kristensen (UCPH)
  • Sasha Krot (IGPP, Hawaii) [TBC]
  • Michiel Lambrechts (Lund)
  • Chin-Fei Lee (ASIAA)
  • Min-Kai Lin (ASIAA)
  • Sheng-Yuan Liu (ASIAA)
  • Yuji Matsumoto (ASIAA)
  • Martin Pessah (UCPH)
  • Yong-Zhong Qian (U. of Minn)
  • Martin Schiller (UCPH)
  • Hsien Shang (ASIAA)
  • Sundar Srinivasan (ASIAA)

Organizing Committee

  • Martin Bizzarro (UCPH)
  • Cindy Chiu (ASIAA)
  • Hsin-Yin Huang (ASIAA)
  • Sze-Chi Huang (ASIAA)
  • Troels Haugbølle (UCPH)
  • Hiroyuki Hiroshita (ASIAA)
  • Der-Chuen Lee (Inst. Earth Sciences, Academia Sinica)
  • Min-Kai Lin (ASIAA)
  • Sheng-Yuan Liu (ASIAA)
  • Yuji Matsumoto (ASIAA)
  • Martin Pessah (UCPH)
  • Hsien Shang (ASIAA)
  • Ronald Taam (ASIAA)
  • Yao-Huan Tseng (ASIAA)
  • Miikka Vaisala (ASIAA)
  • Meng-Ru Wu (Institute of Physics, Academia Sinica)