Visit ASIAA Homepage 🌠 Memorial Messages
The Lin-Shu Symposium: 50 Years of Spiral Density Waves
June 24-28, 2013
Tsinghua University, Beijing, China

In Memory of Prof. Chia-Chiao Lin

This symposium is dedicated to Prof. Chia-Chiao Lin, who passed away recently on January 13, 2013. Prof. Lin left behind a profound legacy in applied mathematics, fluid dynamics, and astrophysics. Please join us for the reflections and remembrances from broad perspectives of astrophysics.

The science program was motivated by the 50th anniversary of the publication of the path breaking paper by Profs. C. C. Lin and F. H. Shu on the density wave theory of spiral structures in galaxies. Their pioneering work has laid the foundation for the developments in the origin and maintenance of spiral structure and has also had implications in other areas of modern astronomy such as theories of star formation and rings around planets.

In memory of Prof. Lin and his contributions in astrophysics, we will review the development of density wave theory over the last 50 years. Specific attention will be focused on evaluating their impact on theory and observation with a view toward the future. Phenomena occurring both near and far, from the small scale to the large scale, will be discussed. The conference will feature presentations including satellite disks surrounding planets, disks around young stars, and the many faces of spiral structures in galaxies. The lessons learned in the past 50 years and the directions for the future will be actively discussed. Generations of scientists are sincerely invited to gather together to witness the scientific advances and understanding made through the studies and applications of density waves, and the connections to fluid dynamics and applied mathematics.

Scientific Organizing Committee

  • Fred C. Adams (U. of Michigan)
  • Giuseppe Bertin (U. of Milano)
  • Ronald Allen (STScI)
  • Daniele Galli (Arcetri)
  • Y. Y. Lau (U. of Michigan)
  • Susana Lizano (UNAM, Morelia)
  • Yu-Qing Lou (Tsinghua)
  • Hsien Shang (ASIAA, Chair)
  • Ronald Taam (ASIAA)
  • Wen-An Yong (Tsinghua)
  • Hans Zinnecker (SOFIA)

Local Organizing Committee

  • Liu Hong (Tsinghua)
  • Suh-Lian Lin (ASIAA)
  • Yu-Qing Lou (Tsinghua)
  • Hsien Shang (ASIAA, Co-Chair)
  • You-Huan Tseng (ASIAA)
  • Hsiang-Hsu Wang (ASIAA)
  • Wen-An Yong (Tsinghua, Co-Chair)
    Contact LOC
  • E-mail:
ASIAA will not contact participants for credit card information by phone. Privacy and Security Policy